The Book Mashup Tag (original) | In which my brain has made a weird but wonderful thing

Many books have this little blurb saying “for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and The Hunger Games” or something alike. I usually really like those kind of things but only if they’re accurate. And if they mention any of the cliché too-often-compared-to books, they might as well not do it at all.

However, they are really fun to play with, and that’s what I’m going to do today. This tag is created in the weird part of my sleep-deprived brain and works like this:

  • Choose 10 or more book titles (you can also play with tv series, movies or basically anything that has a story and characters)
  • Put them in a bowl/mug (or be lazy like me and just use a randomizer online)
  • Take 2 of them and mash them up!
  • You can take characters from one story and put them in the other, mix up the worlds, fuse the story-lines, anything is okay as long has it contains elements from both stories!
  • Write a (small) paragraph with the premise of your new mashed-up story
  • Go on until you’re out of titles!
  • Have fun! Go crazy!

I’m going to play with a bunch of very well-known YA books because it’s fun and everybody knows them at least a little.

divider1

1. The Hunger Games X Six of Crows

 

The gangs of Ketterdam fight in an epic battle to the death to become the best of the city. All the gang leaders have to put forward their best and most cunning. Of course, the first of the Dregs to volunteer was Kaz Brekker, aka Dirty Hands. Not much later Katniss Everdeen of the Dime Lions, a smart bow-woman stood up to fill their spot, but only to save her sister Inej from having to participate. Inej is not pleased.

2. Illuminae X Red Queen

 

The Silvers and Reds lived in peace until the space ships attacked, only few were able to survive the mysterious attack. Among them, many Silver royals and a common Red girl pretending to be one of them. Throughout the flight, the Silvers take control, because only they can control the ship with their powers. The common Reds only realize before they do that the ship’s AI system is out of control and Kady, a programmer, and Ezra, a pilot, have to save the ship from disaster.

3. The Raven Boys X Radio Silence

 

Frances’ best friend, Blue, lives on the other side of the country, but seems worlds away. The only way they keep in touch is over through the internet. Frances, however, keeps hearing less and less of Blue and in order not to face her feelings for Blue (sorry not sorry) starts to obsess over the podcast Universe City. Little does she know, that Blue is making different friends, falls in love and is on the search for a Welsh king that may or may not even exist.

4. The Infernal Devices X Fangirl

 

Cath’s family of Shadowhunters had always been pushing her to train and become one herself. Cath, however, prefers to think up the most amazing adventures in the safety of her room. Only when a new girl arrives at the (dominantly male) institute, her life starts to shift. She’s dragged in the adventure to save the Shadowhunters, together with Tessa, from dangerous automatons and a creepy old man who should just shut up already.

5. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children X The Kiss of Deception

 

When Lia escapes her arranged marriage, she hopes to find a simple life on a small island on the English coast. She doesn’t know, however, that the boy she was meant to marry is trailing her every step and even worse, a traitorous spy who turns out to be a wight (#spoileralert :P). With monsters around every corner on her journey, she finds home in a strange orphanage with even stranger children stuck in a time-loop.

6. An Ember in the Ashes X Harry Potter

 

When an owl showed up at Elias’ doorstep with his letter to Blackcliff Academy, the most notorious school for battle and magic in the middle of the desert, he can’t believe his eyes. His loyalty always was in the muggle world, but for his family’s namesake, he goes anyway. But then, he is also entered in the tri-wizard tournament and has to win from the famous boy who lived in order to be able to return to his muggle life.

7. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe X The Maze Runner

 

When Ari arrives at the Maze, his life seems to have taken a turn for the worse. He can’t remember anything but when he looks into the eyes of Dante, another boy in the maze, his heart aches. He aches to see the stars, which they can’t see at the Maze. Thomas, another boy at the Maze seems to gather the group to try to escape but all Ari really wants is to escape the maze that is his own mind.

divider1letstalk

This went from a little crazy to psycho crazy, but this was honestly so much fun to do! I hope you loved reading it too! I am tagging: Eve, InsideMyLibraryMind, Jenn, May, Ilsa, Michelle, and uhhmm anyone who wants to do this! (I dare you!)

If you’re doing this tag, please link back to me and thank the person that tagged you! I’d love to see what you all come up with!

47 thoughts on “The Book Mashup Tag (original) | In which my brain has made a weird but wonderful thing

  1. This is the best idea for a tag. I had so much fun reading the your mashup stories, and a few of them I wish were real! Ari and Dante in the maze, that sounds awesome! I hope this tag comes around my way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow this is so creative!!!!! I totally would read some of these books. It reminds me of when Disney Channel would do those mash up episodes where Hannah Montana and Suite Life and Wizards would all be at the same place and it would be the most magical thing ever????? Like I wish there was an author out there that literally just took people’s favorite books and combined them into a new story with all the characters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oohhh yes that was the best thing ever!! Those mash-up episodes were always amazing! Yes, someone should go write these mash-up stories (that’s probably what fanfiction is for though, maybe it already exist somewhere…) Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Um, Lia, can I just say that you’re a GENIUS!
    Seriously, I’m doing this!
    Some of these were just crazy to think about. The first two made sense and then the books started being from complete opposite genres haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well… genius 😛 I can’t wait to read your post!
      Yeah it got really crazy! Those first few were easy but then it turned into something very strange but kind of cool too?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my goodness, this is SO COOL and I am SO EXCITED to do it! Honestly I’d love to read The Maze Runner as a contemporary book with just like, all these boys floating around doing nothing over summer. The Hunger Games/Six of Crows mashup also sounds HELLA RAD, I love it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! Yes The Maze Runner as a contemporary sounds pretty cool, a bit like The Rest of Us Just Live Here! I just need a Hunger Games/ Six of Crows cross-over now. I just need it.
      Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. this looks like so much fun!!! and i love all the blurbs you did for them. they either seemed hilarious or like an actual epic story that i legit want to read. i will for SURE be doing this tag ASAP!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh thanks! Honestly, I kind of need some of these stories to be real now, like the Hunger Games/ Six of Crows cross-over, I’d totally read that! I’ll look forward to reading your post, Theo!

      Like

  6. I LOVE THIS. The concept of the tag, the stories you came up with… Everything 😀 This is so much fun and I wish all of these cross-overs were real because I’d love to read them haha. Thank you so much for tagging me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! 😀
      I’m so glad you like it, it was such a weird idea but it’s so much fun! I want to read those cross-overs too, someone should go write fanfiction!!

      Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s